Southwest, Planning District 4 Citizens Planning Advisory Committee

Chair: Christina Purdy Vice Chair: William Fonferek



October 16, 2024

To: Honorable Kevin Carrico
Land Use & Zoning Committee
117 W. Duval St., Ste. 425

Jacksonville, FL 32202

Honorable Randy White President, City Council 117 W. Duval St., Ste. 425 Jacksonville, FL 32202 Mr. Charles Garrison Chair, Planning Commission 214 N. Hogan St. Ste. 300 Jacksonville, FL 32202

Re: Ordinance #2024-0719

The Southwest CPAC Committee met on October 14, 2024, and reviewed the request for Planned Unit Development Rezoning at 12810 Normandy Blvd., RE #'s 002183-0050; 002183-0100; 002215-0000; 002215-0010.

After much consideration, the Southwest CPAC LUZ Subcommittee has decided to take no action on this Ordinance based on our need for additional information. However, we strongly recommend that the developer meet with our City Traffic Engineers and the Florida Department of Transportation, given that Normandy Blvd. is a state road. This meeting could reveal that the additional cars from this proposed new property may cause an adverse vehicular impact on the intersection. Adding another access point or a traffic light could significantly improve the conditions and prevent accidents.

We strongly advise that the city requests more traffic studies be required of the developers to take place during major commute hours. One entrance/exit onto bustling roads is a recipe for accidents due to the possible bottleneck the new development can create.

Therefore, the Southwest CPAC strongly recommends deferring this application until the city and state perform a traffic study during morning and/or evening commute hours.

Respectfully Submitted,

Christina Purdy

Christina Purdy

Southwest Citizens Planning Advisory Committee (CPAC) Chair

CC: City Council Vice President: Kevin Carrico

Members: Ken Amaro, Raul Arias, Joe Carlucci, Rory Diamond, Rahman Johnson, Michael Boylan, JuCoby Pittman, Tyrona Clark-Murray, Kevin Carrico, Reggie Gaffney Jr., Matt Carlucci, Nick Howland, Jim Peluso, Mike Gay, Will Lahnen

E-copy: Council Legislative Services: Merriane Lahmeur, Margaret Sidman, Maritza Sanchez, Barbara Ireland Hobson

Attorney: Mary Staffopoulos

Planning Department: Erin Abney, Andy Hetzel, Kristen Reid, Bruce Lewis, Laurie Santana, Patricia Sales,

Helena Parola

Neighborhood Department: Thomas Waters, Lisa Ransom, Michelle Godwin-Ware