

## OFFICE OF THE CITY COUNCIL

117 WEST DUVAL STREET, SUITE 425 4<sup>TH</sup> FLOOR, CITY HALL JACKSONVILLE, FLORIDA 32202 904-630-1377

## CITY COUNCIL SPECIAL MEETING – ELECTION OF OFFICERS MINUTES

May 28, 2024 4:00 p.m.

Location: City Council Chamber, City Hall – St. James Building; 117 West Duval Street,

In attendance: Council Members Ron Salem (President), Randy White (Vice President), Ken Amaro, Raul Arias, Michael Boylan, Joe Carlucci, Matt Carlucci, Kevin Carrico, Tyrona Clark-Murray, Rory Diamond, Terrance Freeman, Reggie Gaffney Jr., Mike Gay, Nick Howland, Rahman Johnson, Will Lahnen, Chris Miller, Jimmy Peluso, Ju'Coby Pittman

**Also**: Mary Staffopoulos and Carla Lopera – Office of General Counsel; Merriane Lahmeur, Sharonda Davis, Maritza Sanchez – Legislative Services Division; Theresa Eichner – Public Information Division; Kim Taylor and Phillip Peterson – Council Auditor's Office

Meeting Convened: 4:01 p.m.

Council President Salem called the meeting to order at 4:01 p.m. and recognized former Council Members Sam Newby, Anna Brosche, Scott Wilson and Doyle Carter in the audience. Merriane Lahmeur, Chief of Legislative Services, read the Council Rules instructions for voting for officers.

The President opened the floor to nominations for the position of Council President-Designate. Council Member Howland nominated Council Vice President Randy White for the position, seconded by Council President Salem.

There being no further nominations, the nominations were declared closed and by written ballots the council elected Council Vice President White by a vote of 19-0 as the President-Designate.

The President opened the floor to nominations for the position of Council Vice President-Designate. Council Member Freeman nominated Council Member Kevin Carrico for the position, seconded by Council Member Pittman. Council Member Howland spoke in favor of Mr. Carrico's nomination, then nominated Council Member Michael Boylan for the position, seconded by Council Member Peluso.

There being no further nominations, the nominations were declared closed and by written ballots the council elected Council Member Carrico by a vote of 15-4 (Council Members Boylan, Matt Carlucci, Peluso and Clark-Murray voting for Boylan) as the Vice President-Designate.

President Salem extended the privilege of the floor and Mr. White recognized his family and past members of the Fire and Rescue Department in the audience. He thanked the council members for their support and pledged fairness in getting the Council where it wants to be. President Salem extended the privilege of the floor and Mr. Carrico talked about his faith and family and thanked the council members for their trust in him and support for his work. He pledged to balance the needs of a leadership role with the needs of his district.

Council Member Diamond said he looked forward to supporting the leadership team of Council Members White and Carrico.

Ms. Lahmeur announced that the officers' installation ceremony will be held on June 20<sup>th</sup> at 5:30 p.m. in the Council Chamber, with a reception to follow at the Main Library.

Meeting adjourned: 4:28 p.m.

Jeff Clements - Council Research Division jeffc@coj.net 904-255-5137 Posted 5.29.23 11:45 a.m.