Introduced by Council Member Johnson:

RESOLUTION 2025-196-A

A RESOLUTION CELEBRATING JACKSONVILLE AS THE HOST OF THE 2024 FLORIDA ARTISTS HALL OF FAME INDUCTION CEREMONY AND COMMENDING THE 2024 INDUCTEES FOR THEIR CONTRIBUTIONS TO ARTS AND CULTURE; PROVIDING AN EFFECTIVE DATE.

WHEREAS, the Florida Artists Hall of Fame was established by the Florida Legislature in 1986 to recognize individuals, living or deceased, who have made significant contributions to the arts in Florida as performing or practicing artists in individual disciplines; and

WHEREAS, recipients of this honor represent the diverse artistic talents that shape Florida's cultural identity, whether they are native to the state or have chosen Florida as their home, demonstrating artistic excellence across various disciplines; and

WHEREAS, the State of Florida recognizes the role of artists and cultural benefactors in strengthening the state's artistic legacy, with their work contributing to Florida's national and international reputation as a strong and sustained leader in the development of cultural excellence; and

WHEREAS, the Florida Artists Hall of Fame Wall, located in the Rotunda of the Capitol building, serves as a permanent tribute to each year's inductees, featuring a framed image of honorees alongside a commemorative plaque. Inductees are also awarded a bronze sculpture, commissioned by the Florida Council on Arts and Culture, La Florida, created by St. Augustine based artist Enzo Torcoletti; and

WHEREAS, Jacksonville is proud to have been selected as the

host city for the 2024 Florida Artists Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, which took place on February 17, 2025, at the historic Florida Theatre, hosted by Florida Secretary of State and Jacksonville native, Cord Byrd, further establishing the city's role in promoting and celebrating the arts; and

WHEREAS, the 2024 inductees include Roger Bansemer, a distinguished artist from St. Augustine whose nationally televised series has inspired audiences and showcased artistic excellence; George Clinton, a Grammy Award winning, pioneering musician from Tallahassee whose contributions to funk music have shaped the genre and influenced generations; Xavier Cortada, a Miami based artist whose thought-provoking work engages communities and addresses pressing environmental and social issues; and Lynyrd Skynyrd, Jacksonville's own legendary band whose Southern rock anthems have left an enduring mark on music history; and

WHEREAS, the 2024 inductees have each made significant contributions to the arts, bringing national and global recognition to the state through their dedication, innovation and creative excellence; now therefore

BE IT RESOLVED by the Council of the City of Jacksonville:

Section 1. The City Council hereby celebrates the City of Jacksonville's role as the host for the 2024 Florida Artists Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony and commends the inductees — Roger Bansemer, George Clinton, Xavier Cortada, and Lynyrd Skynyrd — for their outstanding contributions to the arts and cultural heritage of Florida.

Section 2. Effective Date. This Resolution shall become effective upon signature by the Mayor or upon becoming effective without the Mayor's signature.

Form Approved:

/s/ Shannon MacGillis

Office of General Counsel

Legislation Prepared By: Nayeli Jimenez, City Council Research

GC-#1672844-v1-FL_Artists_Hall_of_Fame_Reso_(Johnson).docx